X Axis is double entered value.....

Discussion in 'CNC Cutting' started by David in Sacramento, Feb 13, 2016.

  1. David in Sacramento

    David in Sacramento New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2016
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    I have a Torchmate 4X4 GS. Generally it works fine. However, the X axis is always double the entered value. So all circles become ovals and a 5" X axis cut are 10" long. All X axis measurements are double what they are suppose to be. I fix this by setting X axis a 50% in Setup and it works OK. Anyone have an idea why it's doing this?
     
  2. GS317

    GS317 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2016
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    What software is it for the driver? Sounds like gear ratio in the software might need adjusting...
     
  3. nwaPLASMA

    nwaPLASMA Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2016
    Messages:
    504
    Likes Received:
    256
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Definitely sounds like a gear ratio issue. Have you measured movement and adjusted for ratio variance? I had to make significant changes to mine. Here's a link to the setup process.

    http://torchmate.com/news/60/121/Initial-Configuration-for-Torchmate-Driver-Software-Version-3
     
    Torchmate likes this.
  4. Dnmeistr-LECS

    Dnmeistr-LECS Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2015
    Messages:
    684
    Likes Received:
    109
    Trophy Points:
    123
    See the screen shots below of a 4x4 setup file, depending on how your connect your motor cables will determine what axis controls what motor. Here I have X axis as the single motor and the Y as the double motors (the side rails), the X axis (single motor) uses a larger machine screw and thus one rotation equals 1 inch as you can see in the Drive Parameters screen shot (Step Mode is 4 with both Gear Ratio and Thread Count as 1). The Y axis (two motors, one on each rail) uses a smaller lead screw with a drive belt, results in two rotations for one inch, where the parameters screen shows Step Mode of 2 with GR of 1 and TC of 2.

    In your case if the X axis is doing two rotations for one inch then you will need to change it to one rotation for one inch, change your Step Mode to 4 with both GR and TC of 1.

    upload_2016-2-15_8-22-31.png


    upload_2016-2-15_8-22-45.png
     

    Attached Files:

    Torchmate likes this.

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice