VMD 2020 Config Help

Discussion in 'CNC Cutting' started by Forgedweld, May 21, 2020.

  1. Forgedweld

    Forgedweld New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2018
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I've updated to VMD 2020, and I'm having trouble finding how I change the FlexCut model that the software is using. It seems to default to FC80, and I have a FC125. Thought it may detect the machine model during startup, so have tried cycling power with no success.

    Also, I've been unable to figure out how to get the table feedrate in the integrated tables to override the 100ipm default cut speed from Torchmate CAD files in the gcode. Do I just need to just use the manual override?

    Anyone else go through this?

    Other than that, I'm really impressed with the improved accel/decel in corners, and added features.
     
  2. LECS-Chad

    LECS-Chad Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2015
    Messages:
    639
    Likes Received:
    188
    Trophy Points:
    123
    LOG ON.

    ADMIN (password 1234)

    Press OK.

    When the MACHINE SETTINGS opens, up in the upper left you will see a GEAR.

    Press the gear.

    upload_2020-5-27_14-20-13.png

    In the COMMISSION ACCUMOVE tab, select your machine and change to the right plasma cutter.

    upload_2020-5-27_14-16-54.png

    obviously, HIDE OXY/WATER LEVEL if using a 4x00.

    Press OK and the VMD will restart with the proper settings.
     

    Attached Files:

  3. Forgedweld

    Forgedweld New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2018
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Thank you, Chad.

    Can you confirm something about the automatically loaded feedrates for me?

    If you load a cutfile from the shape library, does it use the feedrate (from the material thickness you've specified) as the cut speed, and conversely, if you import a cut file from Torchmate CAD, you'll need to manually adjust the cut speed as before the tables were included in VMD with this update?
     
  4. LECS-Chad

    LECS-Chad Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2015
    Messages:
    639
    Likes Received:
    188
    Trophy Points:
    123
    Shape Library parts go off of the values in the PROCESS. This means you can have one file that will run on multiple materials.

    If you are running out of TMCAD, then you can skip entering the feed rate as SP2 no longer travels at max speed when no feed rate is assigned.

    upload_2020-5-27_15-7-42.png

    Just toggle the CUT PARAMETERS to USER DEFINED vs. PROGRAM DEFINED.
     

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice