USB Dongle. Which one do you have?

Discussion in 'General Fabrication' started by Gamble, May 28, 2016.

  1. Gamble

    Gamble Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2016
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    13
    I have the orange one that came with my torchmate. Going on over 2 years now and a few times I got an error message saying it couldn't see the dongle and closed the software. I don't want to be in panic mode for if the dongle ever shits the bed. So I emailed TM and told them I want another one. This would also help since I use TM cad on 2 laptops. One for design and one for cutting.
    It showed up today but it's a smaller blue/white one. Not sure what the difference is. It also came with a cd. My original one did not come with a disc.

    Anywho, threw the blue usb stick in and opened up TM cad as usual. Nope didn't see the key at all and it closed. Tried to do an install with the disc but for some reason it doesn't want to install it.

    Did I get the wrong one? Does the blue one have a temporary or permanent key? What happened to the orange one? Why does it not work ?
     
  2. Ben DeLap

    Ben DeLap Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2016
    Messages:
    130
    Likes Received:
    177
    Trophy Points:
    123
    Several months ago my dog knocked my laptop off of the end table beside where I work. It impacted directly on the orange dongle basically exploding it. I've had three generations of dongle. Purple, orange and now blue/white. All have come with a disc. You can't just plug it in and go unfortunately and these are not interchangeable. I would first uninstall/remove the old program. Then insert the new dongle. Insert disc and run setup on that bad boy, installation should commence. That's worked for me since the evolution from the purple dongle which required it's installation after the software had been downloaded from disc.
     
  3. Dnmeistr-LECS

    Dnmeistr-LECS Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2015
    Messages:
    672
    Likes Received:
    108
    Trophy Points:
    123
    On the dongle there are two license files, this applies to the Orange and Blue/White ones, you do not need to uninstall the software if you did not update the software to the next version. You can simply copy/paste the two files into your Torchmate Cad directory on the C drive and replace the existing files. The same with upgrading, if you upgrade the software it will ask for the location of the dongle so it can pull the two files and install them along with the rest of the installation.
     
    Matt and Ben DeLap like this.
  4. Gamble

    Gamble Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2016
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    13
    So I should just download the latest software off the website and it will work?
    Copy/paste the files from the blue/white stick to the C Cad directory? And replace the exisiting files ?
    So the blue/white has 2 license files on it where as the orange only has 1?
     
  5. Dnmeistr-LECS

    Dnmeistr-LECS Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2015
    Messages:
    672
    Likes Received:
    108
    Trophy Points:
    123
    The two license files are Products.ini and Products.lcf both found on the Orange and Blue/White dongles. Open the Products.ini file and it will indicated what version of the software it is licensed for, you can install only that version. If you install a newer or older version than what it is licensed for then the Cad software will not work.
     
    Torchmate likes this.
  6. Conrad_Turbo

    Conrad_Turbo Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2016
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    8
    This post is a bit old, but I have an orange dongle that I used to move from computer to computer. The LED stopped working on it. Now it resides in the USB port on the back of my main computer. That computer gets remote desktopped or connected via Teamviewer for all my CAD work. Once the g-code file is generated it sits in Dropbox which syncs with my shop PC. Load the file and begin cutting. Any issue, I just remote back into the CAD computer and make the necessary changes.
     
  7. Matt

    Matt Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2015
    Messages:
    112
    Likes Received:
    30
    Trophy Points:
    58
    Interesting way to do, props for getting creative with the remote/cloud usage lol
     
  8. Conrad_Turbo

    Conrad_Turbo Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2016
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    8
    If you set up a computer to allow for multiple RDP instances, you could have multiple users access the same pc...and software on that pc. I don't need to tax my main CAD computer that far, but it's possible. ;)
     

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice