Torchmate 4800, XY Axis, Positioning and Squaring Table

Discussion in 'CNC Cutting' started by RDINC, Sep 21, 2016.

  1. RDINC

    RDINC Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2016
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Chad,
    I would love nothing more than to call and speak with someone. Each time I have called tech support there have been long wait times, and I have waited to only get someone who wasn't familiar with my issues. I would then be transferred to someone who seemed knowledgable and would ask that I run a test and return with the results. I did, both over the phone to only get this techs voice mail, and by email to not have it answered in over 48hrs.......


    That being said......

    It was nice to chat with the Engineer? yesterday along with you and the other manager. I am currently running the test I was asked. I will report back.....

    To all... In defense of TM they are trying to help as much as possible even sending a tech out soon.
     
    LECS-Chad likes this.
  2. RDINC

    RDINC Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2016
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Larry,
    I haven't seen anything like you mention. What I have seen/heard is one of the motors binding. Its not repeatable completely ramdom.

    Dnmeistr,
    Alignment is spot on.......
     
  3. Larry Cameron

    Larry Cameron Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2016
    Messages:
    146
    Likes Received:
    29
    Trophy Points:
    108
    Update on issues?
    Larry Cameron
     
  4. El Jefe

    El Jefe Advanced User Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2015
    Messages:
    120
    Likes Received:
    62
    Trophy Points:
    58
    I believe the issue has been resolved, I will wait for the customer to verify before I assume satisfaction.

    There has been a lot of activity concerning this machine, but we still have not yet received the return product to verify our suspicions of the original problem.
    I am awaiting a few reports from various departments, but our intention is to provide a full report of this issue as an exercise in our commitment to providing a premium product.

    For the time, I will leave this thread up, unless the customer wishes to remove it. I may choose to remove this thread at some point.

    Full details to come.
     
  5. RDINC

    RDINC Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2016
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    3
    I spent a day last week on the phone with and engineer running over some of the basic test. There were a few bugs that we worked out in those test but the engineer doesn't feel that those were in anyway shape or form an issue. It did run better I felt. Monday a Lincoln tech/rep stopped by to lay eyes and hands this beast. He found that our ground was insufficient . We had 2- 8' copper rods placed about a foot apart. Apparently 2 grounds that close isn't a good thing and neither Ohm'd out properly. So we install a new ground rod and it too didn't test properly. We started pouring water down the hole and it began to test good and you could hear the machine run better. So at this point all seems well. We were about to cut several parts out with only minor hangups due height adjustments.

    As of right now the machine seems to be working correctly and all is well. I do want to go on record and state that Lincoln/ TM did all they could to help through this situation. Talking with the engineer and the rep coming out was crucial. So "Thank You" Lincoln/TM for standing behind your product and going the distance to get this solved. Much can be said bout a company and its service after the sale.
     
  6. bigjoe

    bigjoe Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2016
    Messages:
    156
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    88
    that's great to hear, I too bought my machine because of the research I did and the customer service and support!!
     
  7. Harlan Cooper

    Harlan Cooper Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2017
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    3
    I have been having these issues with my 4400 table also. I've only had it a couple of months and it cuts good most of the time but I am not confident enough to walk away while it cuts. On any large job there is a chance that it will out of the blue start cutting the file about 6-12 inches off from where it was the second before. it did it three times yesterday and I wanted to blow it up! I now notice that when it does it as it moves from the last cut to the next cut in a file it makes a very loud hum sound and when the torch comes down to start the next cut it is 6-12 inches off. I have been able to save the recent parts because I caught it and re aligned and started it back. It did it twice in one job yesterday. I don't know how I can do any production work because I don't trust it to work right. Any Thoughts?

    I just went and watched the videos provided of the 4800 that RDINC posted and my machine has all the same axis errors as his as well as the pop ups to turn the drives on. The binding and loud noise his makes is the same as what mine does. I posted last month about the possibility of mine binding up but nobody responded. I will say that his machine appears to do it more often than mine.
     
    Last edited: May 6, 2017
  8. Larry Cameron

    Larry Cameron Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2016
    Messages:
    146
    Likes Received:
    29
    Trophy Points:
    108
    My 2 cents says it is binding, so somewhere something is not square. I never leave my table to go do something, the 4 times I have in 6 years, it screwed up. So sit, watch and catch issues before they start.

    Larry Cameron
    RusticMetalArt
     
    Last edited: May 7, 2017
  9. Harlan Cooper

    Harlan Cooper Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2017
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Did this seam to fix the problem? Was it the grounding rod issue? I am about to redo my grounding rods and hope this is my problem also.
     
  10. Larry Cameron

    Larry Cameron Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2016
    Messages:
    146
    Likes Received:
    29
    Trophy Points:
    108
    ........ does the a good ground rod make the difference between a machine binding or not? I don't get it. Surely the machine can dry run all over the table length and height without issues? Or am I missing something vital?
    Larry Cameron
     
  11. Harlan Cooper

    Harlan Cooper Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2017
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    3
    I dont know whats up with mine. when I first Datum it in the morning it binds up on the Y axis and I cant jog it other than moving it manually with my hands. then it works for a little while then binds up again.
    If you are standing at the front of the machine it is obvious that the left Y axis motor is the problem. The right side motor starts to move but the left side motor doesn't. i sent a video in to the support email but they said they couldn't open it or they didn't
    get it. I sent them another email last week and haven't heard anything. The other guy apparently got his machine fixed so why cant they just tell me whats wrong? They just said they haven't seen this before.
    I shouldn't have to break out the duct tape to fix a $22,000 machine that's only two months old.
     
  12. Dnmeistr-LECS

    Dnmeistr-LECS Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2015
    Messages:
    705
    Likes Received:
    109
    Trophy Points:
    123
    Harlan I called and left you a message, give me a call and we can get your table squared away.
     
  13. Fastyankee13

    Fastyankee13 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2016
    Messages:
    89
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Make sure your table is square and level not twisted. I have issues with mine when it would run a job . I spent a day leveling and squaring my machine up. I still have issues with my table but no were near the binding I was having.
     
  14. Ray Avelino

    Ray Avelino Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2017
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Im experiencing this lately. My 4800 (with flexcut 125) will all of a sudden change the position (even the reference) of the cut! I mean it happens once every hundred parts but still. Its frustrating to start a part again and me throwing the material out. All of a sudden the z axis will have error then the y axis error then x then u (what is U by the way??). It all gets fixed once I datum the machine again. Once I restart again then all cuts are great again. The machine is really good... but its not perfect. Im pushing it to its limits, like 10 hrs plasma cutting non stop for days. I just want to understand what's happening. I can't really pinpoint. Interference came into our minds because we are using a different hand held plasma 12m away, also tig and mig machines 12m away. Could interference be the culprit every now and then?Heat? motor problems? Thanks.
    IMG_20180317_140033.jpg IMG_20180317_140115.jpg IMG_20180317_140123.jpg IMG_20180317_140135.jpg
     
  15. Dnmeistr-LECS

    Dnmeistr-LECS Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2015
    Messages:
    705
    Likes Received:
    109
    Trophy Points:
    123
    There are two types of position loss either Mechanical or Software. Mechanical is easy enough to check, press Datum then jog the Y axis at high speed back and forth a few times bring it back towards you and hit Datum again, to check for Datum Errors, no errors do it again a couple more times to check for errors. If all is good then it may be software where it is traversing around a corner too fast. See guide attached for checking that the pads for the Y and the U axis are positioned correctly, U is closest to touch screen.
     

    Attached Files:

  16. Ray Avelino

    Ray Avelino Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2017
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Im experiencing a lot of x-axis error so I disassembled the torch head. Found that the belt connected to the motor of x-axis is too loose - looks like it was a mechanical problem all along. Im planning to replace it instead of just adjusting the motor distance. Im still in the process of disassembling the internal parts. Any idea how many teeth this belt has?
     
  17. Ray Avelino

    Ray Avelino Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2017
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    I just tightened the belt. But still the x-axis problem persists. Looks like the belt is busted, when I jog the head manually there is a bit of slippage. Will be replacing the belt soon.
     
  18. LECS-Chad

    LECS-Chad Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2015
    Messages:
    657
    Likes Received:
    191
    Trophy Points:
    123
    Can you take some pics and send them to support@torchmate.com
     
  19. Ray Avelino

    Ray Avelino Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2017
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Already did. And ordered a new one too. Thanks
     

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice