1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Motors will not engage.

Discussion in 'CNC Cutting' started by noclinkers, Jan 8, 2019.

  1. noclinkers

    noclinkers Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2016
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    So, was doing some rearranging of the shop and when I hooked my table back up now the motors will not engage.
    TM3/Accumove 3.
    Have checked all the fuses inside the controller and all lights come on that should.
    Any Ideas?
     
  2. Dnmeistr-LECS

    Dnmeistr-LECS Well-Known Member Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2015
    Messages:
    578
    Likes Received:
    101
    Trophy Points:
    123
    You would want to check that you can ping the controller using Windows Command Prompt, the address to ping would be 192.168.1.7. If you cant ping it then the computer is not communicating to the Accumove box, for the fuses inside the box you want to check that you have 24v DC indicated by the green Led light on the black box. If the Led light is out then you have blown the 24v fuse, fuse on the small power board in-between the two capacitors.
     
  3. noclinkers

    noclinkers Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2016
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    OK, got it working with another laptop, but now it keeps blowing fuses on the small circuit board and the motors will not run.
     
  4. Dnmeistr-LECS

    Dnmeistr-LECS Well-Known Member Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2015
    Messages:
    578
    Likes Received:
    101
    Trophy Points:
    123
    Pull all 4 I/O cables from the back of the box, they are the small round connectors, if you have a TMX water table also unscrew the round limit switch cable. Plug in one at a time the 4 small round cables till you find the offender or the larger round screw on cable. One of these cables could be causing the fuse to pop, due to a short to ground.
     
  5. noclinkers

    noclinkers Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2016
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    It doesn't do it automatically when I power up The motors will be moving and then it will blow the fuse.
     
  6. Dnmeistr-LECS

    Dnmeistr-LECS Well-Known Member Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2015
    Messages:
    578
    Likes Received:
    101
    Trophy Points:
    123
    Sounds like this is the fuse that supplies power to the drive boards, the fuse next to the two red wires on the power board. When the fuse blows the green lights on the drive cards would go out. One of the drive cards may be bad, try t narrow it down to one axis, jog one axis at a time to see which one blows the fuse. Inside the box are 4 drive cards, from the transformer in this order you have X, Y, Z, Y, where you have two motors for Y.
     

Share This Page