Long projects?

Discussion in 'General Fabrication' started by Bradleys, Mar 14, 2016.

  1. Bradleys

    Bradleys Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2016
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    So if I have a 23 foot project, how do I break it up to be able to cut out the part? Can I draw it in torchmate and have it nest the project? or do I use normal math and break it where I see fit? my table is a 5 x 10.
     
  2. Dnmeistr-LECS

    Dnmeistr-LECS Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2015
    Messages:
    672
    Likes Received:
    108
    Trophy Points:
    123
    You will still need to break it where you see fit after nesting. If you have Version 9 of the Cad software then you can use the Ginsu Knife to break the part (looks like a cleaver), select the part click on the tool and click outside your part to create a severance line, when you hit Apply the part will be broken in two. The Ginsu tool has two options open or closed, with open selected this will not close the part when it is split, used for indexing.

    If your sheet is longer than the table and you need to cut half the part out then slide the sheet down and continue cutting, the key here is to be able to locate the sheet using a guide to help line up the next cut.

    If you have an earlier version of the cad software then you can still use the tool, it is under Layout > Common Line Cutting > Inclusion. Though this will sever the piece and close each end where you can open the part through node editing.

    See our latest video using Cad Tools

     
    Don Powell Jr likes this.
  3. Gamble

    Gamble Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2016
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    13
    Anyway to update our current software ? Mine is 8.0 Rev 1
     
  4. Matt

    Matt Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2015
    Messages:
    112
    Likes Received:
    30
    Trophy Points:
    58
    To upgrade from version 8 to version 9 you will want to speak with our parts department and they can get you a quote for the upgrade. 899-571-1066 ext 59217
     
  5. Gamble

    Gamble Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2016
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    13
    What types of gains are with 9 over 8? Does this involve a new usb key as well?
     
  6. Dnmeistr-LECS

    Dnmeistr-LECS Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2015
    Messages:
    672
    Likes Received:
    108
    Trophy Points:
    123
    Biggest difference is Version 9 has a parts library, predefined shapes where you enter the dimensions to create the part. You would use the same dongle and we would email you license files to use the upgraded software.
     
  7. Gamble

    Gamble Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2016
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    13
    Do you need accumove 2 for version 9?
     
  8. Dnmeistr-LECS

    Dnmeistr-LECS Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2015
    Messages:
    672
    Likes Received:
    108
    Trophy Points:
    123
    No you do not need Accumove to upgrade.
     

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice