How to combine cutpaths

Discussion in 'CNC Cutting' started by Seth Grundmeyer, May 4, 2017.

  1. Seth Grundmeyer

    Seth Grundmeyer New Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2017
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I am working on designing a symbol for my grandmother and i ran into the problem that my cad link wont let me combine cutpaths into one. I was wondering if anyone knew how to do it and if so can you teach me? Thank you
     
  2. No Class

    No Class Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2017
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Can you post a file for someone to look at or be more specific about what exactly you are trying to achieve? Are you trying to join two paths or import one cut path into another file and have both?
     
  3. LECS-Chad

    LECS-Chad Guest

    So I have to assume a few things since you left out some details.

    All you have is the CUT PATHS? If all you have is the cut paths then each one would be brought in and "repaired" then you can IMPORT into one file.

    Do you have the .cdl/dxf drawings? If this is the case then go to FILE/IMPORT and you can IMPORT multiple files into one and then generate the tool paths for all of it and send it out.
     
  4. Dnmeistr-LECS

    Dnmeistr-LECS Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2015
    Messages:
    705
    Likes Received:
    109
    Trophy Points:
    123
    As they say a picture is worth a thousand words.
     
  5. BlueSteel

    BlueSteel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2016
    Messages:
    101
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    88
    When I try to 'weld' something and it doesn't weld how I want to. I select it all and click the black box in the bottom left. Right click then left. Or left then right. Make sure it's all the same color and that fixes my issue
     
    Kchoghead likes this.
  6. Dnmeistr-LECS

    Dnmeistr-LECS Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2015
    Messages:
    705
    Likes Received:
    109
    Trophy Points:
    123
    BS you can confirm this by looking on the right side of your screen, it will show the current layers being used, if you don't see this you can go to View > Pallettes and turn on Job Pallette. Generally you should only see one layer/color if multiple then welding objects together will not work right as they are on different layers.
     
  7. No Class

    No Class Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2017
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ensure you have a closed path before you attempt to weld them together. You can check this by selecting 'view' then 'show fill'. If the objects do not have a closed path attempting to weld them will result in undesirable results.

    Post the file and you will get more specific feedback. Other than that it's will just be a guess.
     

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice