curving text.

Discussion in 'CNC Cutting' started by DanGeorgian, Feb 20, 2017.

  1. DanGeorgian

    DanGeorgian Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2017
    Messages:
    102
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    23
    before you say it, YES i watched the video, like 1000 times. did everything EXCATLY how he did it.
    my text wont curve to fit the path. i click the text box then click on the line i want it to form to and it just types in a straight line. i tried drawing another circle to see if it was my design messing up but it did the same thing. any ideas?
     
  2. DanGeorgian

    DanGeorgian Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2017
    Messages:
    102
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    23
    if someone has an email i can send you a video of whats going on. (if necessary) the forum wont let me post the vid for some reason
     
  3. Torchmate

    Torchmate Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2015
    Messages:
    248
    Likes Received:
    57
    Trophy Points:
    108
    Can you tell me what file type and how large the file is? I can help with getting the video posted.
     
    DanGeorgian likes this.
  4. DanGeorgian

    DanGeorgian Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2017
    Messages:
    102
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    23
    my program saves it as an mp4 and its 45.7mb. im using the xbox screen thing. because i have windows 10 and the program i would like to use (which saves it as an avi file) doesnt say anything about operationg on windows 10.
     
  5. Torchmate

    Torchmate Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2015
    Messages:
    248
    Likes Received:
    57
    Trophy Points:
    108
    Unfortunately the file size is too large for us to host it. I would suggest uploading it to youtube and posting a link.

    Do you have the ProText upgrade for your TM CAD?
     
  6. DanGeorgian

    DanGeorgian Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2017
    Messages:
    102
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    23
    ok. i think so? im using v9.....
     
  7. DanGeorgian

    DanGeorgian Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2017
    Messages:
    102
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    23




    video of my issue.
     
  8. LECS Mark

    LECS Mark Well-Known Member Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2015
    Messages:
    79
    Likes Received:
    49
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Curving text along a design is only possible with the ProText Module upgrade to Torchmate CAD. If you didn't make it a point to purchase it, it probably isn't included in your license.

    You can call our parts department to purchase this software upgrade by calling them at 775-673-2200.
     
  9. DanGeorgian

    DanGeorgian Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2017
    Messages:
    102
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    23
    how do i figure out if i have it? and how much is it? and is there anywhere i can get a list of all the stuff ill need to (software or hardware) change my machine between doing router vs oxy torch vs plasma torch? and any cad packages or upgrades i need? and my boss is wondering if there is some sort of package with premade designs for the different heads (hes really interested in doing wood stuff with a router head)
     
  10. bigjoe

    bigjoe Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2016
    Messages:
    155
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    38
    I thought one could select each letter separate and place /space it along the arc. Seems like I have done this
     
  11. LECS-Chad

    LECS-Chad Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2015
    Messages:
    618
    Likes Received:
    186
    Trophy Points:
    123
    Go to TRANSFORM. If you have FIT TEXT TO PATH/FIT TEXT TO ARC as options then you have Pro-text.

    You can do it manually by creating the text. going to ARRANGE/TEXT TO GRAPHICS this will make your text a shape. now you can alter each letter individually.
     
  12. DanGeorgian

    DanGeorgian Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2017
    Messages:
    102
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    23
    Ok thanks again.
     
  13. Moparman68

    Moparman68 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2017
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    What sucks is this was included with the original torchmate cad full suite, when i upgraded to V9 it went away. Thanks a bunch!
     
  14. nwaPLASMA

    nwaPLASMA Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2016
    Messages:
    502
    Likes Received:
    255
    Trophy Points:
    153
    I’ve seen a couple others post about this issue over the last year or so. I can curve text with the free version of CAD Lite. I always assumed others just didn’t understand how to do it but it obviously doesn’t work in your video. Curious why my Lite version works?

    0AD15AAD-EE01-413F-939F-24054BC6D275.jpeg B5557B59-9DF4-4B50-99C8-576DC3AA9093.jpeg
     
    Last edited: Dec 22, 2017
  15. Kchoghead

    Kchoghead Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2016
    Messages:
    191
    Likes Received:
    27
    Trophy Points:
    108
    Do you need a dongle for cad lite? If so then it is not free... Torchmate has all of their software on the website for download, but you will still need a security dongle to run the software. I was one of the first few to get the Accumove 2 system with at that time the latest cad version 9. I was informed by torchmate that they took the curve to text option out of ver 9 .
     
  16. nwaPLASMA

    nwaPLASMA Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2016
    Messages:
    502
    Likes Received:
    255
    Trophy Points:
    153
    I have an orange dongle that works with Lite and I have a blue dongle for the full version. Both curve text. And I downloaded them both a few months ago since I got a new laptop. So I guess the dongle, not the software, dictates the curved font option?
     
  17. Kchoghead

    Kchoghead Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2016
    Messages:
    191
    Likes Received:
    27
    Trophy Points:
    108
    I also have an orange dongle for cad 9. I wonder if it would run a lesser version of cad that would curve text
     
  18. nwaPLASMA

    nwaPLASMA Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2016
    Messages:
    502
    Likes Received:
    255
    Trophy Points:
    153
    You know what. I took the pics I posted without even inserting the dongle.
     
  19. nwaPLASMA

    nwaPLASMA Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2016
    Messages:
    502
    Likes Received:
    255
    Trophy Points:
    153
    It just kicked me out shortly after.
     
  20. Kchoghead

    Kchoghead Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2016
    Messages:
    191
    Likes Received:
    27
    Trophy Points:
    108
    you can do a few clicks in my software without the dongle, but after that it kicks you out
     

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice